Andy Griffiths - Updated Jul 2024

Updated On June 3, 2024
Most Popular
Andy Griffiths

Andy Griffiths is a well-known Australian children’s author. Moreover, Andy Griffiths is best known for his Just! series, which was adapted into an animated television series called What’s with Andy?, his novel The Day My Bum Went Psycho, which was also adapted into a television series, and the Treehouse series, which has been adapted into several stage plays.

Early Life

Andrew Noel Griffiths best known as Andy Griffiths was born on the 3rd of September 1961, in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia. According to his date of birth, he is 61 years old and holds Australian nationality.

Moreover, he has the birth sign of Virgo and believes in Christianity by religion. Similarly, he follows Christianity by religion and belongs to a mixed ethnicity of English, Irish, German, French, Scottish, and Welsh Descent.

Nothing is known related to his parent’s and siblings’ names at the moment. The author has not yet revealed his early childhood life and is quite private when it comes to his personal life.

Regarding his academic qualification, he completed his early schooling at Yarra Valley Grammar School, in Melbourne, Australia. Later, he enrolled in a local university in Australia and completed his graduation.

Andy Griffiths – Net Worth 2023

Being a popular author, he has collected a huge sum of money through his books. As of 2023, he has an estimated net worth of $25 million which he earned from his children’s books such as short story collections, Bad book series, Novels, etc.

Professional Career

Talking about his professional career, Andy Griffiths began his career as a teacher. And, he soon realized that not every child enjoyed reading. Moreover, he started writing pieces that he assumed would help his students learn to enjoy reading and writing.

Due to his succession of plans, he stopped teaching and began his full-time writing. He is also known for working with Australian illustrator and author, Terry Denton.

Just Series

In 1997, he released his first book named ‘Just Tricking!’ This book consists of short stories following a character named Andy, who wants to be the world’s greatest practical joker but instead ends up the victim of his pranks.

Later, he released books in the series including Just Annoying! (1998), Just Disgusting! (2002), Just Shocking! (2007), Just Macbeth! (2009), and Just Doomed! (2012). Its series was adapted into an animated television series called What’s with Andy?, his novel The Day My Bum Went Psycho, which was also adapted into a television series.

Treehouse series

Moreover, he and Denton released the first book in the Treehouse series. Moreover, the book is about two characters named Andy and Terry living in a treehouse that has many levels of silly things.

In the first book, The 13-Storey Treehouse, the two characters;  Andy and Terry are in an amazing treehouse that features a bowling alley, a see-through swimming pool, a giant catapult, and a marshmallow machine.

With each book in the series, the treehouse increases 13 stories higher, with each level as silly as the last.

Andy Griffiths

Caption: Andy Griffiths with his books collection (Source: Taste)

There are levels in The 39-Storey Treehouse (2013) featuring a mud-fighting arena and an antigravity chamber. In The 91-Storey Treehouse (2017), there is the world’s most powerful whirlpool and a giant spider web.

Moreover, this book series has been published in more than 35 countries and five of the books have been adapted for the stage.

Other Works

His other works included ‘The Bum Trilogy’ and ‘The Schooling Around Books.’ The Bum Trilogy is a book about the story of Zack Freeman and his crazy runaway bum. While,  The Schooling Around Books, are four novels that follow the adventures of children at the Northwest Southeast Central School.

In addition, he also wrote picture books for young kids, such as ‘Duck in a Truck in the Muck’ and ‘Frog on a Log in a Bog’ (both released in 2014).


Over a course, this author along with Terry’s books has sold over 10 million copies, won 80 children’s choice awards, and 10 Australian Book Industry Awards—including Book of the Year for The 52-Storey Treehouse in 2015.

In 2015, he was awarded the Dromkeen Medal to honor his outstanding contribution to Australian children’s literature. This author is also an ambassador for both The Indigenous Literacy Foundation and the Pyjama Foundation.

Relationship Status

Talking about his personal life, Andy Griffiths married his wife, Jill Griffiths. However, there is not much more information available related to their exact marriage date and places, kids, when and how they met, and many others.

Andy Griffiths

Caption: Andy Griffiths with his wife (Source: Herald Sun)

This Australian author is not a part of controversy nor got rumors and focuses on his personal and professional life.

Body Measurements

This Australian author stands 6 feet tall and his weight is average. Similarly, he has black hair with dark brown hair color and there is not much more information available related to his other body stats.

Andy Griffiths

Caption: Andy Griffiths posing for a photo (Source: Reading Australia)

Andy Griffiths – Social Media

On his Instagram ‘@andygbooks’ there are more than 8.4K followers. Similarly, there are more than 14.9K followers on his Twitter account ‘@AndyGbooks’ and more than 5.6K followers on his Facebook page.